You never know!

One of my guys at work had a heart attack this week. He was working at the shooting range and felt bad the last couple of hours with pain in his chest. He went home and then collapsed and couldn’t stand up. His wife took him to the small new OLOL triage center in Walker and his heart rate was 180. They shocked his heart and got it back in rhythm but then sent him to the hospital by ambulance to be admitted for Supraventricular Tachycardia (fast heartbeat). As it turns out, he had a “significant” heart attack and had immediate surgery for a stint. One artery was blocked 100% and another at 80-90%. He will go back in a month or so for the second one to be treated.

Now this guy is not a fat old guy. He’s only 35, a former marine, and in decent shape. He might could lose 20 pounds at the most and be at an optimal weight. He does smoke and he likes good country cooking (eggs and bacon, fried fish, etc.), but he also likes/eats lots of vegetables and is active.

Heart disease is a huge killer in the United States and although I’m sure some hereditary issues may have come into play, what we eat and how much we move has a lot to do with it. I had just started wearing my FitBit again the day before this happened. I’m working my way up to 10,000 steps a day and I’ve got to cut back on the bad food and junk I eat. I’m not going to go P90X crazy right now, but it’s a start!

About bayoustitcher

I live in south Louisiana and I enjoy being creative.

Posted on February 21, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

