Daily Archives: November 19, 2010

The “why” just doesn’t matter

It has taken me a long time to learn that I really do wear my heart on my sleeve and I must take responsibility for my own feelings. I’ve often heard that other people can’t make you “feel” guilty or hurt or angry, it’s the way we allow ourselves to feel when others wrong us. Although I know it in my head, it’s a whole ‘nother thing to make it happen in your heart.

After almost 25 years working as a law enforcement officer, a field obviously dominated by men, one would think I would have a handle on that by now. Although I try, I just don’t have a grasp on that concept. What I have learned and am much better able to put into practice is that the “why” just doesn’t matter. It seems that if I could figure out the “why” I could “fix” it. But there just ain’t no fixing some people. And while I might allow myself to feel hurt or guilty, I can’t hold myself responsible for figuring out why other people do things to hurt me.

Maybe they are so low that the only way they can feel better about themselves is to mess with other people. Maybe they don’t know any better, and maybe they don’t even realize how the things they say and do affect others. No matter the reason, I can’t change them or their personality. What I can do is change the situation and correct my perception of the event. And realize that over time the hurt will fade, I’ll recover, and I’ll be okay.

So, the “why” just doesn’t matter and MEAN PEOPLE SUCK!